The final round of matches for the Glo Premier League in Nigeria have been played across the country on Sunday evening, with Kano Pillars retaining the League title.
Pillars became the first club to win back-to-back titles since Enyimba last achieved the feat in 2003. The Kano State-owned club finished on top of the log despite losing 2-0 to a Barnabas Imenger-inspired Lobi Stars.
Enyimba beat Sharks 1-0 in Aba to go second and clinch the other CAF Champions League qualification slot at the expense of third placed Bayelsa United, who will have to settle for a place in the CAF Confederation Cup after losing 1-0 away to Gombe United.
El Kanemi Warriors finished in fourth place after losing 1-0 to fifth placed Enugu Rangers at the Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium, both clubs gave thus booked a place in next year’s Wafu Club Cup, that is if the competition is organised.
The two Ilorin clubs in the elite division were relegated as ABS lost 1-0 away to Warri Wolves, while Kwara United went down after being held 1-1 at home by fellow strugglers Akwa United.
Nembe City also beat the drop after beating Sunshine Stars 1-0 in Yenagoa, while Kaduna United beat already relegated Shooting Stars 2-0 at the Ahmedu Bello Stadium.
Nasarawa United also managed to stay afloat, after recording a slim 1-0 win over visiting Heartland in Lafia, but Wikki Tourists went back to the second-tier after losing 1-0 to Dolphins in Port Harcourt.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s