John Mikel Obi and Victor Moses have been named on a five-man shortlist for the 2013 BBC African Footballer of the Year award.
The Nigerian pair played key roles in their country’s successful Africa Cup of Nations campaign earlier this year. They are joined on the shortlist by Jonathan Pitroipa of Rennes, Yaya Toure from Manchester City and Borussia Dortmund’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.
Mikel played all but one minute of the Super Eagles’ triumph in South Africa, impressing both defensively and going forward. He was also a mainstay of the Nigerian team that represented Africa at the Confederations Cup – as a consequence of their Nations Cup victory – scoring against Uruguay and earning plenty of plaudits for his performance against world champions Spain.
Moses was also an integral member of the victorious Nigeria side, scoring two crucial penalties against Ethiopia with qualification from the group stage at risk. He was named Fair Player of the tournament and joined Mikel in the overall best team of the tournament.
Both the Nigerians also played their part as they enjoyed Europa League success, Moses finding the net on four occasions in that competition. It was this year that Mikel struck his first goal for the Blues in six and a half years, netting against Fulham in September.
Two players have won the award while representing Chelsea, with Michael Essien successful in 2006 and Didier Drogba victorious in 2009.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s