Goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama, midfielder John Mikel Obi and forward Emmanuel Emenike are among five Nigerians who made the shortlist for the African Player of the Year award.
The trio are joined by Ahmed Musa and Africa Cup of Nations hero Sunday Mba.
That number represents one fifth of the total nominees and means Nigeria have the highest number of players nominated for the award,
But they will face competition from 20 other players from around the continent, including the Côte d’Ivoire trio of Didier Drogba, Yaya Toure and Gervinho.
The Ivorien tally of three is the next highest behind Nigeria, with Ghana and Egypt supplying two nominees each.
Mba was also nominated for the African Player of the Year based in Africa award.
Ahmed Musa,
Asamoah Gyan,
Dame N’Doye,
Didier Drogba,
Emmanuel Emenike,
Islam Slimani,
John Mikel Obi,
Jonathan Pitroipa,
Kévin Constant,
Kwadwo Asamoah,
Luís Carlos Almada Soares – (Platini),
Mehdi Benattia,
Mohamed Aboutrika,
Mohamed Salah, Nicolas Nkoulou,
Pierre-Emerick, Aubameyang
Ryan Isaac Mendes da Graça
Saladin Said,
Seydou Keita,
Sofiane Feghouli,
Sunday Mba,
Victor Wanyama,
Vincent Enyeama
Yao Kouassi Gervais ‘Gervinho’
Yaya Toure
African Player of the Year – Based in Africa
Adane Girma
Ahmed Fathi
Alexis Yougouda Kada
Ali Machani
Bapidi Fils Jean Jules
Daine Marcelle-Klate
Fakhreddine Ben Youssef
Getaneh Kebede
Idrissa Kouyate
Iheb Msakni
Luyanda Lennox Bacela
Mbwana Samatta
Moez Ben Cherifia
Mohamed Aboutrika
Rainford Kalaba
Senzo Meyiwa
Soumbeila Diakite
Sunday Mba
Tresor Mputu
Waleed Soliman
Yannick N’djeng


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s